Ahem, yes, well, err..It is 2014 (suddenly?) and I have to say I feel a bit embarrassed of my efforts in the latter half of 2013.

Don’t get me wrong, I read a boatload of books, but I didn’t make much effort to review any of them. This has troubled me for a while, and I wanted to understand why some books seem more review-worthy than others. I cannot write reviews of every single book I read. I’d have no time to read. It seems a bit unfair to write a review that consists of “I liked it, it was good.” It takes a significant amount of time to piece together the elements of a novel that make it a good story. What is it about a plot that causes you to stare off into space working on the details? Why are there characters that you would throw your arms around or throw off a cliff upon first meeting? (“I’ve heard SO much about you!”) I have found it very difficult writing a review about a book I dislike. Just because I don’t like a book, for whatever reason, doesn’t mean I need to dissect it in such detail to make it difficult for other readers.

****

I’ve set a hefty goal for myself this year and part of it includes reading some books that “everyone” has read and enjoy discussing like people who lived in the ‘hood back in the day. The Hobbit is a good example. Who knew Bilbo was your neighbor’s second cousin’s uncle? Never met the man, err, hobbit, sorry.

Another goal I have set for myself is to be conscious of my attitudes and manner of speaking. I am choosing to reinvent my vocabulary, and the tone of my conversation. This is not a New Year’s resolution. This is something I have been working on for several months, and I am ready to publicly commit to my efforts.

That said, I won’t be writing any negative reviews. Just because I don’t like a book, for whatever reason, doesn’t mean I need to dissect it in such detail to make it difficult for other readers.

I won’t promise to do better in 2014, I only promise to do.

