14JAN: If I thought running in 40 degree weather was great, running in 50 degree weather is glorious.
It’s supposed to be 13 on Friday, so don’t think I’m getting all excited about the future of running in January.  (Plus, I’ll be elsewhere and won’t be running on Friday, for which I am exceedingly grateful)

I’m starting to be a little encouraged about hills.  I can sprint up a not so huge slope to make the traffic light. Once you’ve committed to the light, though, you really have to be willing to go hard at the end.  Lots of people in this town don’t quite stop for red lights, and you need to be on your toes or on their hood.  (While I kind of enjoy being hit by a slow moving car, in a sick and twisted way, certainly, it’s not an encounter I want to experience every day.)

There’s not really anything else to tell you at this point it’s all run, run, run and try to spread the word.

I’ve put together an email to send to my family and friends, and I’m including it here in the hopes that you will send it to your family and friends, and so on and so on.  I’ve also had a couple of really awesome people post on their blog about my trip.  Which is totally cool.

*************

Hi,

In April I’ll be running the Tough Mudder (an obstacle race) in Austin Texas. I’m running to raise money for the Foundation for Fighting Blindness.  My daughter-in-law and several members of her family have a degenerate eye disease that slowly steals their vision.  This foundation focuses on finding a cure for genetic eye diseases.

Below are links to a blog that I am keeping that explains a little bit more about this, and if you want to keep up with my training you can subscribe to it.  There are also links to Tough Mudder, the Foundation, and a site where you can make donations through PayPal.

Please feel free to share this email with friends and family.  My goal is to raise $5000 and I cannot do it without you.

My blog also has some posts from other road trips I’ve taken and some random book reviews. If you enjoy what you read feel free to subscribe.

My best

This is the first Tough Mudder post on my blog

This is a link to the PayPal site where you can make donations.

