I’ve been looking at the weather forecast for the next two weeks, and it looks like there could be some rain along the way.

Sometimes it just sprinkles and you get wet, then the sun comes out and you get dry.  Other times, it rains but not hard enough to justify pulling over and putting on your gear.  And then there are times that the rain starts so suddenly, and rains so fiercely that there is no time to put on your rain gear until it’s entirely too late.  If you’re almost to your destination, you really don’t want to take the time to pull over unroll, climb in, zip up… you just want to get where you’re going so you can strip off your wet clothes, shower  and put on clean dry ones.

Not to say I don’t believe in wearing my rain gear, it’s just a really fine line between why bother and, why bother.  If you’re wet, putting on your rain gear is a commitment to being wet and sticky for the duration.  I’ve been caught in downpours, stopped under a ledge, got my gear on and driven for another 30 minutes,  only to pull over and take it off because I was baking.   Usually after another thirty minutes it pours again and I have to stop a third time.

I plan on putting the rain covers on my bags since I know the possibility exists, and my rain gear and extra gloves will be at the top of my saddle bag.  I have to figure out what I’m going to do about my extra helmet and my heavy coat, because both of those will be top loaded (strapped to the top of the luggage).

I have waterproof combat boots to keep the puddle out, and extra gloves. We both have rain gear, and both bikes have windshields.  Riding for any great distance without a windshield is like standing in front of a fire hose.  By the time you get off the bike you feel like your skin is vibrating at a 180 cycles per second.  I was stubborn and learned the hard way.  I was also sneaky and bought an easy-off windshield so when I get to my destination, I can leave it in my hotel room and cruise the ‘hood like a true biker chick.

<whisper> There’s no helmet intercom, I like having my head to myself when I ride. <\whisper>

